DE / EN

Katharina Kellermann

Citizenship and politics of remembrance. Sound as a commemorative cultural medium in postcolonial Hamburg

Notions of History – traces and continuities of the colonial past: The topography of Hamburg confronts us with mute monuments of Germany`s colonial history. Colonial traces construct urban spaces that still need to be understood as contested fields of remembrance culture. Not all memories and perspectives count the same here: some become hegemonic, others remain excluded. Culture of remembrance is always a matter of political struggles and interpretative contestation.

Production of Knowledge – postcolonial knowledge production as an articulation of urban citizenship:The project explores how colonialism with its continuities and effects is thematized in contemporary culture of remembrance, particularly which perspectives are represented within this field and which are excluded. The project especially focuses on the question of how existing structures of space, history and memory are shaped and performatively reinterpreted by postcolonial antiracist work.

Politics of Memory – Performing Citizenship by collective acoustic remembering: Based on this analysis, the project aims at developing performative acoustic forms of remembering, which might serve as a potential dispositif for subaltern interpretations and, in the form of a mobile concert, will publicly intervene at urban sites that were relevant for the city’s colonial past. Artistic work with sound as non-visible art form will be used to create site-specific, participatory and semiotically ambiguous acts of remembrance and to search for an acoustic mode of expression that opposes the prevailing monumental culture of remembrance already by means of its form and rather operates in a post-narrative and representation critical fashion.

Post navigation

DE / EN

Katharina Kellermann

Citizenship und Politiken der Erinnerung. Sound als erinnerungskulturelles Medium im postkolonialen Hamburg.

Die Rolle der Hansestadt im deutschen Kolonialismus und entsprechende Spuren davon im Stadtraum wie in einer öffentlichen Debatte, sind als erinnerungspolitisches Feld Ausgangspunkt für eine Beschäftigung mit performativen Formen der Erinnerung, Geschichtsaufarbeitung und Geschichtsschreibung durch das Medium Sound. Klang und Akustik werden als Forschungsperspektive auf den Zusammenhang von Erinnerungskultur und Stadt genutzt. Das Vorhaben versucht Politiken und Akte des Zuhörens theoretisch zu konzeptionieren und künstlerisch zu gestalten und vermitteln.

Anhand der beiden künstlerischen Forschungsprojekte How to hear the invisible und Call to Listen werden Situationen des Zuhörens initiiert, die eine Aufarbeitung von und Erinnerung an koloniale Politiken gleichermaßen verräumlichen und enträumlichen. Die Projekte untersuchen, wie der Kolonialismus mit seinen Kontinuitäten und Auswirkungen in einer zeitgenössischen Erinnerungskultur thematisiert wird und welche Perspektiven darin Repräsentation finden. Dabei steht besonders im Fokus, wie bestehende Konstruktionen von Raum, Geschichte und Gedächtnis durch post_koloniale und antirassistische Arbeit erinnerungskulturell mitbestimmt und performativ umgedeutet werden.

Künstlerisches Arbeiten mit Klang als nicht-visueller Kunstform wird genutzt, um partizipatorische Akte des Zuhörens und Erinnerns zu gestalten und nach einer akustischen Ausdrucksweise zu suchen, die sich ich einer vorherrschenden monumentalen Erinnerungskultur schon der Form nach widersetzt. Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Phänomen Stimme wie mit unterschiedlichen akustischen Verfahrensweisen (Klangqualität, Montage und akustische Figuren) werden Möglichkeiten und Spezifika der akustischen Repräsentation sowie das politisches Potential von Sound als Medium der Intervention, der Kommunikation und schließlich der Erinnerung unter postkolonialen Fragestellungen ausgelotet.

www.how-to-hear-the-invisible.org

Post navigation