DE / EN

Performing Citizenship: International Conference with Nikita Dhawan, Nanna Heidenreich, Engin Isin, Elke Krasny, Alice Lagaay, Sandra Nöth, Darren O’Donnell, Alan Reed, Sergio Tamayo

The artistic-academic graduate school Performing Citizenship organized an international conference in Hamburg from 2nd to 4th November 2016 with Nikita Dhawan, Nanna Heidenreich, Engin Isin, Elke Krasny, Alice Lagaay, Sandra Nöth, Darren O’Donnell, Alan Reed, Sergio Tamayo and the FUNDUS THEATER, K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg and HafenCity Universität.

 

FullSizeRender

 

The aim of the three-day conference was to discuss new articulations of citizenship in the cities of the 21st century which are often self-organized and negotiate rights for participation with artistic and performative means.

Is it possible to think a “performative democracy” beyond our system of representative democracy? How to bridge the gap between traditional political institutions such as parties, public authorities, NGOs or unions, and how to investigate these newly emerging forms of collectivity and collaboration? Do we need a new theoretical framework to re-think and re-enact citizenship?

The conference assembled speakers with different disciplinary backgrounds such as philosophy, cultural studies, urban sociology and/or post-colonial theory in dialogue with young scholars who presented parts of their doctoral and post doc research. Over three days in the Fundus Theater and at the keynote lecture in the HafenCity University about 100 people attended the conference.

DE / EN

Performing Citizenship: Internationale Konferenz mit Nikita Dhawan, Nanna Heidenreich, Engin Isin, Elke Krasny, Alice Lagaay, Darren O’Donnell, Alan Reed, Sergio Tamayo

Das künstlerisch wissenschaftliche Graduiertenkolleg Performing Citizenship veranstaltete eine internationale Konferenz in Hamburg vom 02. – 04. November 2016 mit Referent_innen wie Nikita Dhawan, Nanna Heidenreich, Engin Isin, Elke Krasny, Alice Lagaay, Darren O’Donnell, Alan Reed, Sergio Tamayo und dem FUNDUS THEATER, K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg und HafenCity Universität.

 

FullSizeRender

 

Während der dreitägigen Konferenz wurden neue Artikulationen urbaner Bürger_innenschaft in Städten des 21. Jahrhunderts diskutiert, welche in selbstorganisierter Form performativ und künstlerisch das Recht auf Teilhabe verhandeln.

Ist es möglich eine „performative Demokratie“ außerhalb unseres Systems der repräsentativen Demokratie zu denken? Wie kann man den Gap zwischen traditionellen Institutionen wie Parteien, Behörden, NGO´s und Verbänden überbrücken und wie können die neuen Formen von Kollektivität und Kollaboration untersucht werden? Brauchen wir eine neue theoretische Struktur um urbane Bürger_innenschaft umzudenken und umzugestalten?

Die Konferenz versammelte Referent_innen mit unterschiedlichen disziplinären Hintergründen wie Philosophie, Kulturwissenschaften, Stadtsoziologie und/oder Theorie des Postkolonialismus im Dialog mit jungen Wissenschaftler_innen und Künstler_innen, welche Teile ihrer Forschung im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs vorstellen. An der drei-tägigen Konferenz  im Fundus Theater und der Keynote Lecture von Engin Isis an der Hafen City Universität nahmen gut 100 Besucher teil.