DE / EN

Maike Gunsilius

Perform Citizenship!? School of girls

How will we live together? What does it mean to be (female) citizen in the sense of being active member of today’s postmigrant (Foroutan u. a. 2014) society? How is ‚being a citizen’ articulated: in which publics and under which circumstances? Whenever we talk about citizenship not just as a national status, but connected to civil rights and duties we talk about it as a question of social rights and participation (Marshall 1950) of our urban society – transforming and dynamised e.g. by migration. The performance of citizens as the constitutive moment of the acting subject finds itself within the dilemma between political claim for visibility and participation of marginalized positions and the fulfilling (or denial) of the participatory imperative that society and its institutions address to its citizens (see Schaffer 2008; Rose 2005). Negotiating questions of citizens’ performance the Performing arts, especially in the context of cultural education, find themselves in an ambivalent position.

 

In her art-based research project SCHOOL OF GIRLS Maike Gunsilius is researching togehter with girls and women from Hamburg articulations of female citizens and their conditions: How do we become the citizens we are. And how can we use performative strategies to negotiate this.

 

SCHOOL OF GIRLS I

Together with 12 year-old girls, Maike Gunsilius founded the SCHOOL OF GIRLS. In the first part of the art-based-research. Together with twelve pupils of the neighbourhood Hamburg Veddel she was researching on everyday-practices as civic acting by creating tutorials on these practices. Who does become visible and how? And who is making what visible?

 

SCHOOL OF GIRLS II

In the second part of this research five girls meet five women: In teams of two they spend a day in their city – Hamburg. Their luggage: a performative instruction, 3 hours time, 200 €. With this they will research on what it means to act together in public. At the end of the day they present some results in the Theatre of Research.

 

Both of these art-based projects focus on the conditions of the research-constellation, characterized by generational, cultural and social differences and on the different performative research-strategies (biographical motivated tutorials and performative instructions).

DE / EN

Maike Gunsilius

PERFORM CITIZENSHIP!? – DIE SCHULE DER MÄDCHEN

Wie werden wir zusammen leben? Was heißt es in der aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Konstellation, ‚Bürgerin’ im Sinne eines aktiv gestaltenden Mitglieds unserer postmigrantischen (Foroutan u. a. 2014) Gesellschaft zu sein? Wie artikuliert sich dieses Bürger_innen-Sein, in welchen Öffentlichkeiten und unter welchen Bedingungen? Fragen von Bürger_innenschaft, die über einen (nationalen) rechtlichen Status hinausgehen, diskutieren wir als Fragen gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe und Partizipation (Marshall 1950) unserer u.a. durch Migrationsprozesse dynamisierten und sich transformierenden Stadtgesellschaft. Die Performance von Bürger_innen als konstitutives Moment des handelnden Subjektes (Arendt 2007; Butler 2011) befindet sich dabei im Dilemma zwischen politischem Claim nach mehr Sichtbarkeit und Teilhabe, marginalisierter Positionen und der Erfüllung (oder Verweigerung) eines partizipativen Imperativs, den Gesellschaft und ihre Institutionen heute an ihre Bürger_innen richten (Vgl. Schaffer 2008; Rose 2005). Performative Künste insbesondere im Kontext kultureller Bildung spielen in der partizipativen Aushandlung von Fragen der Performance von Bürger_innen eine ambivalente Rolle.

In ihrem künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekt PERFORM CITIZENSHIP!? DIE SCHULE DER MÄDCHEN untersucht Maike Gunsilius gemeinsam mit Hamburger Schülerinnen und Frauen Artikulationen von Bürgerinnen und ihre Bedingungen aus weiblicher Perspektive: Wie werden wir die Bürgerinnen, die wir sind? Und wie können wir performative Strategien nutzen, dies miteinander zu verhandeln?

SCHULE DER MÄDCHEN I

Gemeinsam mit Hamburger Schülerinnen hat Maike Gunsilius zunächst die SCHULE DER MÄDCHEN gegründet:

Im ersten Teil der künstlerischen Forschung untersucht sie gemeinsam mit Schülerinnen einer siebten Klasse des Hamburger Stadtteils Veddel Alltagspraktiken als bürgerschaftliches Handeln in der künstlerischen Form des Tutorials. Zentral wird dabei die Frage, wer oder was dabei sichtbar wird? Und wer handelnd sichtbar macht?

SCHULE DER MÄDCHEN II

Im zweiten Teil treffen fünf Mädchen auf fünf Frauen: Jeweils zu zweit verbringen sie einen Tag in ihrer Stadt – Hamburg. In ihrem Gepäck: eine perfromative Handlungsanweisung, 3 Stunden Zeit und 200 €. Mit diesen Mitteln untersuchen sie, was es für sie heißt, im öffentlichen Raum gemeinsam zu handeln. Auf der anschließenden Bürger_innenversammlung im Forschungstheater präsentieren sie gemeinsam ihre Ergebnisse .

Beide künstlerischen Forschungsprojekte fokussieren dabei auf die rahmenden Bedingungen der jeweiligen Forschungs-Konstellation, geprägt durch generationelle, kulturelle und soziale Unterschiede, sowie auf die unterschiedlichen performativen Forschungs-Strategien (biografisch motivierte tutorials und performative Handlungsanweisung).